A year has passed since the release of Refused’s fifth full-length album ‘War Music’, and Nov. 20th will bring a new round of the band’s hook-laden, political post-hardcore punk rock.  With the release of the first track “Born On The Outs”, anticipation for the latest EP containing 4 new songs and one album track is starting to build.  “There are certain traditions within the Refused camp and one of the sturdiest is the idea that after every album there comes an EP. This time however I think that we outdid ourselves.” Muses Singer Dennis Lyxzen. “Malfire is my favorite song of the record so it’s more than fitting that we shine some extra light on that. This EP was supposed to be something that was released before a tour but in these weird times that tour never happened. However, this still a great EP that follows a great record. More than ever, we need music to lead the way when things are the darkest. Here’s a little attempt from us.” 

Covering EDM legends Swedish House Mafia’s hit “Greyhound” might seem a bit out of the ordinary, but Refused crafted lyrics for the otherwise instrumental track, and along with the video, have crafted a Refused version called “Born On The Outs” in typical, catchy Refused fashion.  “Kris has talked about the riff in the Swedish House Mafia song ‘Greyhound’ forever, so we decided to give it our own spin. David and I added some lyrics for this version, which we’ve called ‘Born On The Outs’. Make no mistake though; this is very much ‘Greyhound’, but with added lyrics about people who refused to take a side in the ongoing fight against fascism. So, you know, another ordinary Refused song.” says Lyxzen. 

Alongside “Born On The Outs” and “Malfire”, the ’The Malignant Fire’ EP is rounded out with three brand new songs from the band. The EP will be available on all streaming sites, as well as on vinyl which can be purchased here along with some exclusive t-shirt bundle options.

“The Malignant Fire” Tracklisting

  • Malfire
  • Born On The Outs
  • Organic Organic Organic (Go Fuck Yourself)
  • Faceless Corporate Violence
  • Jackals Can’t Be Bothered To Dream

Out 20.Nov.2020.  Preorder the EP here.

Watch the “Born On The Outs” video here and stay tuned for more to come.


Formed in Umeå, Sweden in 1991, hardcore-punk legends Refused are one of the most influential rock bands of the early ‘00s. Artists as diverse as  Linkin Park, Rise Against, Steve Aoki, Paramore, Thursday, Dillinger Escape Plan, Blink-182, and AFI have been heavily cited crediting the release as being a fundamental influence on their musical styles. That album has become a cultural touchstone for the entire post-hardcore generation as the year zero of stylistic genre-bending – utilizing electronics, jazz and slick production for the first time – their reputation tent-poled by politically radical lyrics and solidified by their energetic live shows to spread their message.

After a 14-year pause, the band reunited in 2012 playing much anticipated shows like mainstream festival Coachella and were subsequently awarded the “Special Prize for Music Exports” by the Swedish Ministry of Trade in 2013.  In 2015, they released their fourth studio album ‘Freedom’ which was recorded with Nick Launay (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Killing Joke), while also turning to Swedish pop/producer Shellback –whose credits include Taylor Swift and Britney Spears –for the lead single “Elektra”.  And in late 2019 their fifth full-length studio album ‘War Music’ was released to massive critical acclaim.

Refused is officially the sound and voice of much anticipated video game Cyberpunk 2077’s “house band” SAMURAI!

The Malignant Fire EP

  • Release

    November 20 2020